About the GSA Site Map Contact Us Disclaimer Home
Join GSA
Membership has its rewards!
Find out more...

National Rock Garden

More information contact:



Does your business need to advertise a position vacant?
To review the GSA advertising specifications: Click here





Current News

Australian Earth Sciences Convention
AESC 2014

The Geological Society of Australia biennial convention.

7-10 July 2014
Newcastle, NSW

Public Forum: Energy 2050

As part of the AESC, we held a Public Forum.
The forum was moderated by Paul Bevan, from ABC Radio 1233 in Newcastle. The panellists included:
Prof. Iain Stewart, Geoscience Communication at Plymouth University (UK)
Dr Gary Ellem, The University of Newcastle
Prof. Ben Hankamer,University of Queensland, Institute for Molecular Bioscience
Dr Tony Irwin, Technical Director SMR Nuclear Technology
Dr Alex Wonhas, CSIRO
Ms Rachel Connell, Director, Office of Coal Seam Gas, NSW Trade & Investment.
DOWNLOAD the recording: <click here>

Or PLAY from ABC Soundcloud:
1233ABC N
ewcastle Soundcloud <click here>


12-18 October 2014, Canberra

Earth Science Week
Register your Earth Science week event on the Geoscience Australia website.
Contact: Katy Tomkins, email
For more information: <click here>

GSA support for Sydney University School of Geosciences

On the 15th August the GSA wrote to the University of Sydney in relation to the proposed University of Sydney’s plans to include the School of Geosciences in the Life, Earth and Environmental Sciences (LEES) proposal.
Click here to read more.


New AAP Memoir available now!
Memoir 45: Cambro-Ordovician Studies V

Edited by JR Laurie, JR Paterson & GSA Brock
AAPM 45 Download the order form here

GSA Governing Council

The GSA's Governing Council is made up of four Division Councillors and five General Councillors.
Congratulations to the recently elected Division Councillors; Roger Bateman,
WA Division; Michelle Cooper, ACT Division, Christine Edgoose, NT Division and David Cantrill, Victoria Division.
The five General Councillors are Graham Carr, Ian Graham, Mike Smith, Ian Withnall and Chris Yeats.
The GSA President is Graham Carr.

Australian Earth Sciences Convention

Thank you to the delegates, supporters and sponsors, exhibitors and presenters for attending the AESC in Newcastle. The September TAG will include a wrap-up of the AESC and convention highlights.

GSA membership renewals for 2015

2015 Member renewals will be posted late September 2014.
Now is the time to contact the GSA office to update your membership details.

If you want to pay online:
Internet Explorer is the most ‘user-friendly’ browser to enable online membership
Firstly, Click the member login area
Login: this is your member number
Password: on your member renewal form, unless you manually changed it.
The blue box on the left has your profile, click: Pay My Membership

This window has the details listed on your member renewal, if you do not
want to change anything, simply ‘add to basket’ to make the payment.
If you wish to make changes click on the tick boxes and ‘add to basket’.
You will now be in the checkout window.
Insert your credit card details in this secure area and complete your transaction.
If you would like a receipt, please email:
If in doubt please do not hesitate to contact the GSA by email or phone (02) 9290 2194.  


FacebookTo Follow the GSA on Facebook


Home Top
© 2011 Geological Society of Australia Incorporated
Please email any comments, suggestions or problems with the site to or write/ring:
Suite 61, 104 Bathurst Street, Sydney NSW 2000 AUSTRALIA

Tel 02 9290 2194 Fax 02 9290 2198 International Tel +61 2 9290 2194 International Fax +61 2 9290 2198