Bedding and minor faulting in Camp Hill Sandstone, State Circle, Canberra - image courtesy Douglas Finlayson

Australian Capital Territory

Parking details at ANU
(Adobe PDF File)

Talks & Events
Monthly Division Meetings

Date: Third Tuesday of each month (Except January)
Venue: Jaeger Lecture Theatre, Jaeger Building (Building 61), Mills Road, Australian National University
Time: 5pm for 5.30pm start

New members are always welcome!
Come along to a monthly meeting or contact a committee member if you would like to be more involved with the ACT Division committee. 

Next event

11 December 2018 - ACT Division Christmas BBQ
Details: Please come along and enjoy a drink and BBQ with friends. Free entry in the Christmas Raffle, drawn on the night! Guests welcome!
What to bring: Please bring a chair and a plate of food to share (North-siders - nibbles/salads, South-siders - desserts). Free sausages, bread, sauce. BYO Drinks.
Lennox Gardens, Flynn Dr, Yarralumla, ACT (We will set up north of the Nara Peace Park, look for the GSA banner)
Time: 5.30pm
RSVP: Please RSVP to Michelle Cooper by Sunday 9 December, or 6249 9864

Previous Division Meetings and Activities

25 November 2018 - National Rock Garden - Welcome for the Adelong Norite
Details: Come and celebrate the unveiling of the new 11 tonne Norite specimen donated by community members from Adelong, NSW. This amazing dark coloured intrusive igneous rock has been sculpted by artist Andreas Buisman and is a welcome addition to the National Rock Garden.

27 November 2018 - ACT Division Monthly Meeting
Speaker: Alix Post (Geoscience Australia)
Topic: The Antarctic seafloor: Shelf to slope processes, habitats and life

11 August 2018 - ACT Division at ACTion
DetailsCome and experience real life Science in ACTion! This interactive science fair is a free event for science enthusiasts of all ages. Over 50 stallholders from local STEM organisations will be there to engage you with hands on activities that showcase how science is used every day in their work.
Archaeology and antiquity, Human body and movement, Energy and transport, Environment and nature, Health and medical, Space and astronomy, Innovation and technology

17 July 2018
Speaker: Marita Bradshaw 
Topic: The seven rocks that made Australia

19 June 2018
Speaker: Tony Eggleton (Australian National University) 
Topic: Granite landscapes inform the Kosciusko Uplift

15 May 2018
Speaker: Dr Katherine Grant (Australian National University)
Topic: Reconstructing ‘Green Sahara Periods’ over the last 3 million years

22 April 2018 - Woolshed Creek Fossil Site Tour

17 April 2018
Speaker: Mr James Goodwin (Geoscience Australia)
Estimating Cover Thickness in the Southern Thomson Orogen – A Comparison of Applied Geophysics Estimates with Borehole Results

20 March 2018
Speakers: Tutu Baeza, Claire Orlov and TBA 
Topic: Student Careers pizza lunch with a speaker each from Industry, government and academia

18 March 2018 - ACT Division Field Trip of Gossan Hill 

20 February 2018
Speaker: Mike Rickard 
Topic: A history of structural geology and tectonics

ACT Geological Guidebook and Map
The 1:100,000 scale "Geology of the Australian Capital Territory" geological map and ACT geological guidebook

"A Geological Guide to Canberra region and Namagi National Park" are now available.
Please click on the link below to download an order form or contact ACT Division Secretary for more information.

Download order form
(Adobe PDF File)
Republished: 'Images in Stone – A guide to the building stones of Parliament House'
The publication provides details on every aspect of the stonework in all parts of the Parliament House building,
including areas not open to the public. Please click on the link below to download an order form
or contact ACT Division Secretary, details below.

Student Prizes

Ken Campbell First Year Prize (for ANU students)
Presented annually to the student with the best results in ANU First Year subjects 'ENVS1004 - Australia's Environment and 'EMSC1006 - The Blue Planet' (or equivalent) and who intends to proceed further in courses offered by the ANU Research School of Earth Sciences.

David Blake Second Year Earth Sciences Prize (for University of Canberra students)
Awarded to the highest achieving second year student with a GPA of 5 or more for the first year Earth System Science and Earth Surface Processes and second year Australian Regolith, Landscape and Soils, and Geographic Information Systems subjects.

Mike Rickard Third Year Prize (for ANU students)
Presented annually to the student who was enrolled in a program leading to a degree of Bachelor in the ANU College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences; who has completed three or more of the following EMSC3000 series courses:
EMSC3001; EMSC3002; EMSC3007; EMSC3019; EMSC3022; EMSC3023; EMSC3024; EMSC3025; EMSC3027; EMSC3028; and achieved the best result as shown by the award of the highest average mark in the three EMSC3000 series courses in which the student obtained the best results.

Student prizes are awarded annually. The winner receives a cash sum and one-year GSA membership. For information about the prizes, contact the ACT Division Secretary.


Chair: Vacant

Vice Chair: Cathy Brown

Secretary: Cathy Brown (Acting)

Treasurer: Doug Finlayson

The Capital Geologist (Newsletter) Editor:
Michelle Cooper

Divisional Committee Members
John Rogers
Brad Opdyke
Patrick Carr

Geological Heritage Sub-Committee

Doug Finlayson – convenor
Cathy Brown
Ken McQueen
Mike Rickard
Matt Townsend
Monica Yeung

ACT Stratigraphy Subcommission
Albert Brakel – Convenor
Virginia Passmore
Cathy Brown