Bedding and minor faulting in Camp Hill Sandstone, State Circle, Canberra - image courtesy Douglas Finlayson

Australian Capital Territory


Download February 2021 ACT Division Newsletter

Talks & Events
Monthly Division Meetings

Venue: Jaeger Lecture Theatre, Jaeger Building (Building 61), Mills Road, Australian National University
Time: 5pm for 5.30pm start

New members are always welcome!
Come along to a monthly meeting or contact a committee member if you would like to be more involved with the ACT Division committee. 

Next event

18 April 2021 - ACT Division at the Canberra and Region Heritage Festival
During the 2021 ACT Heritage Festival in April, the GSA ACT Division will have a pop-up booth on Federation Mall near Parliament House to highlight the new ACT Fossil Emblem chosen last year by popular vote. The ACT Fossil Emblem is an early Silurian trilobite, Batocara michelli (425 Ma), obtained from a foundation drill core during the 1960s construction of the Treasury Building near the Australian National Library in the Parliamentary Triangle. The drill core is now part of Commonwealth Palaeontological Collection held at Geoscience Australia. The GSA event will have an activity where kids can paint their own plaster cast trilobite as a memento. During the World Heritage Day event there will also be walking tours along the nearby heritage-listed State Circle road cutting that features a spectacular angular unconformity between rock sequences of the Benambran and Tabberabberan Tectonic Cycles.
Time: 10.00am - 4.40pm
Location: Federation Mall, Parkes, ACT

Previous Division Meetings and Activities

11 December 2020 - ACT Division End of Year Picnic

11 August 2020 - ACT Division Online Annual General Meeting

Speaker: Peter Betts, Monash University
Earth Sciences – is it time to rethink our narrative

Canberra Landscapes
Download information (free PDF files) about geoheritage sites around Canberra.

Black Mountain
Mount Ainslie
Acton Peninsula
Red Hill
Mount Stromlo
Dairy Road
Gossan Hill
State Circle
Woolshed Creek

ACT Geological Guidebook and Map
The 1:100,000 scale "Geology of the Australian Capital Territory" geological map and ACT geological guidebook

"A Geological Guide to Canberra region and Namagi National Park" are now available.
Please click on the link below to download an order form or contact ACT Division Secretary for more information.

Download order form
(Adobe PDF File)
Republished: 'Images in Stone – A guide to the building stones of Parliament House'
The publication provides details on every aspect of the stonework in all parts of the Parliament House building,
including areas not open to the public. Please click on the link below to download an order form
or contact ACT Division Secretary, details below.

Student Prizes

Ken Campbell First Year Prize (for ANU students)
Presented annually to the student with the best results in ANU First Year subjects 'ENVS1004 - Australia's Environment and 'EMSC1006 - The Blue Planet' (or equivalent) and who intends to proceed further in courses offered by the ANU Research School of Earth Sciences.

David Blake Second Year Earth Sciences Prize (for University of Canberra students)
Awarded to the highest achieving second year student with a GPA of 5 or more for the first year Earth System Science and Earth Surface Processes and second year Australian Regolith, Landscape and Soils, and Geographic Information Systems subjects.

Mike Rickard Third Year Prize (for ANU students)
Presented annually to the student who was enrolled in a program leading to a degree of Bachelor in the ANU College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences; who has completed three or more of the following EMSC3000 series courses:
EMSC3001; EMSC3002; EMSC3007; EMSC3019; EMSC3022; EMSC3023; EMSC3024; EMSC3025; EMSC3027; EMSC3028; and achieved the best result as shown by the award of the highest average mark in the three EMSC3000 series courses in which the student obtained the best results.

Student prizes are awarded annually. The winner receives a cash sum and one-year GSA membership. For information about the prizes, contact the ACT Division Secretary.


Chair: Verity Normington

Vice Chair: Vacant

Secretary: Vacant 

Treasurer: Doug Finlayson

The Capital Geologist (Newsletter) Editor:
Patricia Erfurt

Student Representative (s): Vacant

Divisional Committee Members
Michael Anenburg

Cathy Brown

Michelle Cooper

Bruce Goleby

Amber Jarrett


Geological Heritage Sub-Committee
Convenor: Doug Finlayson

Member: Bruce Goleby

Member: Ken McQueen

Member: Monica Yeung

ACT Stratigraphy Subcommittee
Convenor: Cathy Brown

Member: Amber Jarrett

Member: Christo Marais-van Vuuren