Bedding and minor faulting in Camp Hill Sandstone, State Circle, Canberra - image courtesy Douglas Finlayson

Australian Capital Territory

Parking details at ANU
(Adobe PDF File)

Talks & Events
Monthly Division Meetings

Venue: Jaeger Lecture Theatre, Jaeger Building (Building 61), Mills Road, Australian National University
Time: 5pm for 5.30pm start

New members are always welcome!
Come along to a monthly meeting or contact a committee member if you would like to be more involved with the ACT Division committee. 

Next event

11 August 2020 - ACT Division Online Annual General Meeting
Details: The ACT Division AGM will be held online via ZOOM, but depending upon social/physical distancing there may also an option for a small meeting in person. Zoom links will be sent to members prior to the meeting.
Informal nibbles and drinks (social/physical distancing requirements dependant): 5:00-5:30 pm
AGM 5.30-6.30 pm (1 hour for formal proceedings)

Previous Division Meetings and Activities

3 December 2019 - GSA & IAH ACT End of Year BBQ
Description: The ACT Division of the GSA and IAH invite members and guests to celebrate 2019 at an end of year BBQ. Please come along and enjoy a drink and BBQ with friends. Free entry in the Lucky-Door Prize Raffle drawn on the night! 
Venue: Geoscience Australia, Cnr Hindmarsh Drive and Jerrabomberra Avenue, Symonston ACT 2609

19 November 2019 - ACT Division Meeting
Speaker: Steve Hill (Chief Scientist of Geoscience Australia)
Topic: The next Curnamona mineral discovery is under cover 
Video: Click here to watch Steve's talk

14 July 2019 - ACT Division Walking tour of the National Rock Garden and Midwinter Brunch
Details: Join the ACT Division committee and other members for a walking tour of the National Rock Garden (NRG), followed by a Midwinter Brunch at the National Arboretum’s Sprout café. Members of the NRG Steering Committee will present some interesting facts on the Federation (and other) rocks on display. 

4 May 2019 - National Rock Garden 'Space rocks reveal Earth!' at the Canberra and Region Heritage Festival
Details: The National Rock Garden will be participating in three events during the Canberra and Region Heritage Festival. Come and see meteorites, tektites, volcanic bombs & other exciting rocks that reveal the internal structure of our earth and the links to other parts of the solar system.
Location: Namadgi Visitors Centre, ACT Parks and Conservation Service, Naas Road, Tharwa

 16 April - ACT Division Annual General Meeting
Speaker: Michael Anenburg (ANU)
Topic: Nolans Bore – a very unusual type of REE apatite ore deposit in the Northern Territory

ACT Geological Guidebook and Map
The 1:100,000 scale "Geology of the Australian Capital Territory" geological map and ACT geological guidebook

"A Geological Guide to Canberra region and Namagi National Park" are now available.
Please click on the link below to download an order form or contact ACT Division Secretary for more information.

Download order form
(Adobe PDF File)
Republished: 'Images in Stone – A guide to the building stones of Parliament House'
The publication provides details on every aspect of the stonework in all parts of the Parliament House building,
including areas not open to the public. Please click on the link below to download an order form
or contact ACT Division Secretary, details below.

Student Prizes

Ken Campbell First Year Prize (for ANU students)
Presented annually to the student with the best results in ANU First Year subjects 'ENVS1004 - Australia's Environment and 'EMSC1006 - The Blue Planet' (or equivalent) and who intends to proceed further in courses offered by the ANU Research School of Earth Sciences.

David Blake Second Year Earth Sciences Prize (for University of Canberra students)
Awarded to the highest achieving second year student with a GPA of 5 or more for the first year Earth System Science and Earth Surface Processes and second year Australian Regolith, Landscape and Soils, and Geographic Information Systems subjects.

Mike Rickard Third Year Prize (for ANU students)
Presented annually to the student who was enrolled in a program leading to a degree of Bachelor in the ANU College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences; who has completed three or more of the following EMSC3000 series courses:
EMSC3001; EMSC3002; EMSC3007; EMSC3019; EMSC3022; EMSC3023; EMSC3024; EMSC3025; EMSC3027; EMSC3028; and achieved the best result as shown by the award of the highest average mark in the three EMSC3000 series courses in which the student obtained the best results.

Student prizes are awarded annually. The winner receives a cash sum and one-year GSA membership. For information about the prizes, contact the ACT Division Secretary.


Chair: Chris Lewis

Vice Chair: Michelle Cooper

Secretary: Cathy Brown

Treasurer: Doug Finlayson

The Capital Geologist (Newsletter) Editor:
Michelle Cooper

Divisional Committee Members
Marie Aude Bonnardot

Brad Opdyke

John Rogers

Geological Heritage Sub-Committee

Doug Finlayson – convenor
Cathy Brown
Ken McQueen
Mike Rickard
Monica Yeung

ACT Stratigraphy Subcommission
Albert Brakel – Convenor
Cathy Brown