Baudin Rocks, off of Robe, South Australia - Image courtesy Sarah Hender

For questions regarding the SA Division please email

Talks & Events

Monthly Division Meetings

26 Feb 2021 - GSA SA Division - Fieldtrip to Morialta Falls
The GSA SA Division would like to invite GSA members and guests to participate in an excursion to Morialta Conservation Park. We will have Dr Kathryn Amos (sedimentologist), Wolfgang Preiss (geologist) and Prof Alan Collins (tectonisist) teaching us about the Neoproterozoic sedimentary system that encompasses the area. Morialta is a gem on our doorstep – within it there are amazing exposures of fault-propagation folds of the Neoproterozoic Stoneyfell Quartzite formation that preserves beautiful sedimentary structures and is deformed in both the Delamerian and Sprigg Orogenies.
Location: Morialta Conservation Park. Morialta Conservation Park is located 10km north east of Adelaide.
Timing: This event will be weather dependant, we plan to run it from 1 to 4 pm, but if the weather is predicted to be hot, we may bring it forward until the morning. We will notify participants approximately a week before the trip to confirm. We plan to head to the Norton Summit Hotel (Scenic Hotel) for a drink and snacks.
Registration: Click here
Cost: GSA Members: Free   Non GSA Members: $15


Previous Division Meetings

22 October 2020 - GSA SA Division Lunchtime Talk - The Geoscience Treasures of Flinders University Plus an Excursion to the Magpie Creek Geological Trail
Details: The GSA SA Division would like to invite GSA members and guests to a lunchtime meeting at Alere Function Centre, Flinders University. This lunchtime event will incorporate a short, informal seminar on the geology of the Flinders Uni Campus and the global importance of Sturt Gorge and Magpie Creek which was recognised in 1970 by the placement of a GSA plaque at a nearby rock face – the Sturt-Tillite-Tapley Hill Formation boundary. After the short talk, attendees will be invited to view the plaque and nearby key sites of interest which were deposited during vast climatic upheaval pre-emergence of life on Earth. For more information please see the registration page.

17 September 2020 – SA Division Careers in Geoscience Event

Details: Are you an undergraduate, honours, masters or PhD student and would like the opportunity to network with professional geoscientists who can help shape your career?
Do you have questions you'd like to ask professional geoscientists about working in industry, government or academia?

20 August 2020 - SA Division AGM (via Zoom)

Details: The SA Division AGM will be held online via Zoom. An email with a link to register for the AGM has been sent to all SA Division members. After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting. For questions regarding the SA Division AGM please email

16 July 2020 - SA Division Online Meeting
Speaker: Alan Collins (University of Adelaide)
Topic: Evolution of the McArthur Basin 

18 June 2020 - GSA SA Division / AusIMM Online Talk
Topic: Seven years of AusLAMP: What have we learn
Speaker: Graham Heinson, Professor of Geophysics at the University of Adelaide
21 May 2020 – SA Division Zoom Technical Meeting
Speakers: Dillon Brown and Teagan Romyn (University of Adelaide)

Evidence for Mesoproterozoic- & Cambrian-aged metamorphism from the high-grade rocks of central Tasmania: insights into the metamorphic history of western Laurentia and East Gondwana (Dillon)
Felsic metastability during continental subduction: The Norwegian Western Gneiss Complex as a case study (Teagan)
Click here to watch both presentations.

20 February 2020 - SA Division Lunchtime Meeting and Drill Core Viewing
Details: This month's meeting will be a special lunchtime event - in order to view core from the experimental drilling program in 2001 which was both an engineering survey as well as training for hopeful petroleum industry students. The Uni of Adelaide and SANTOS, as part of their planning and construction of the Australian School of Petroleum, had a professional rig to drill a 150-metredeep experimental well on the University's North Terrace campus. The well will be an important teaching tool and a feature of the Santos School of Petroleum Engineering and Management. The drilling operation marked the very start of construction on the school's new building, near Frome Road and the well had to be in place before work on the new building could start. A first for an Australian university and one of only a few purpose-built teaching wells anywhere in the world the data collected and results of the drilling have provided ample experience for students over the years. Also the drill core is an invaluable teaching tool, and has been used for teaching at the ASP as well as the Department of Geology and Geophysics
Speakers: Dr Wolfgang Preiss, Dr.  Ric Daniels & Prof John Kaldi

Student Group Sponsorship
Do you belong to an earth and environmental science-focused student group at one of South Australia’s universities? Are you looking for support for activities, excursions and events (up to $500)? The GSA SA Division would like to provide support for student activities and all is required is filling out an application form, provide a budget and commit to writing a short article for GSA’s quarterly magazine, The Australian Geologist (TAG). Want to know more? Please contact our Secretary, for an application form. Past sponsorship has been provided to the Adelaide University GeologicalSociety (AUGS) and the Flinders University Palaeontology Society (FUPS).


Chair: Alan Collins

Vice Chair: Vacant

Secretary: Morgan Blades

Treasurer: Jarred Lloyd

Programme Secretary: Laura Morrissey

Newsletter Editor: Mario Werner

SAEMC Representatives:
Dillon Brown

Celina Sanso

AUGS Representative: Georgina Virgo

General Committee:

Morgan Blades

Barry Cooper

Graziela Miot Da Silva

John Foden

Diego García-Bellido

Anna Petts

Wolfgang Preiss

Carl Spandler

Caroline Tiddy

Geological Heritage Subcommittee
Carmen Krapf (convenor), Ian Lewis, Bob Major

SA Stratigraphy Subcommission
Mario Werner (Convenor),Tania Wilson, Justin Payne, Jarred Lloyd

Education Subcommittee
Len Altman (Convener)

Field Guide Subcommittee
Barry Cooper (convenor), Bob Major, Nick Langsford, Colin Conor, Ian Lewis, Pat James, Cynthia Pyle, Vic Gostin

SA Geotourism Subcommittee
Ian Lewis (convenor), Carmen Krapf, Pat James, Vic Gostin, Phil Plummer, Kevin Hamdorf, Mark Bishop, Mark Asendorf