Baudin Rocks, off of Robe, South Australia - Image courtesy Sarah Hender

South Australia

For questions regarding the SA Division please email morgan.blades@adelaide.edu.au

Talks & Events

Monthly Division Meetings

7 June 2018 - The Ralph Tate Memorial Lecture (joint GSA-SA Division, the Field Geology Club of South Australia and the Royal Society of South Australia event)
Speaker: Professor Gavin Prideaux, Flinders University
Topic: How has Australian mammal evolution been shaped by environmental change, over the past 25 million years?
Location: Mawson Lecture Theatre, University of Adelaide, North Terrace
Time: 6:15pm for drinks and nibbles and 7:00pm for the start of the lecture

16 August 2018 - SA Division Annual Dinner 
Speaker: Kathryn Amos (University of Adelaide)
Location: The Hyde, Hyde Park
Details: TBA
Previous Division Meetings

17 May 2018 - Joint GSA-SA Division / AusIMM Technical Meeting
Speaker: Anthony Reid, Senior Principal Geoscientist, GSSA
Topic: Stick to your books: geoscience contributions to the minerals value chain

12 May 2018 - GeoFamily Picnic (joint GSA-SA Division, AusIMM Adelaide Branch, ASEG and DPC event)
Location: Enchanted Playground, Prospect Memorial Gardens

19 April 2018
SA Division AGM

15 March 2018

Speakers: Mr Ed Lynch, Zach McLeay, Irraisha Soriano and Tamara Chambers
Details: Students get a chance to listen to graduate geologists, metallurgists and mining engineers.

15 February 2018
Speaker: Dr David Love
Topic: Earthquakes and Faults in Australia


20 October 2017
Speakers: Kate Robertson, Paul Magarey and Brianna Telenko
Topic: Careers in Geoscience

7 September 2017
Speaker: Prof Jim Gehling 
Topic: Eating on Ediacaran Seafloor

31 August 2017
Speaker: Ben McHenry
Topic: Behind the scenes tour of the geology collection of the South Australian Museum

2 August 2017 - SA Division Annual Dinner
Speaker: Ross Large
Topic: Climate Change Through Geological Time

18 May 2017

Topic: Nuclear Waste Disposal – the Facts and the Future
Speaker:
 Ms Kyra Reznikov 
Note: This was a joint event between the SA Division and AusIMM

30 April 2017
Topic: Family picnic

20 April 2017
Topic: AGM

21 February 2017
Topic: Excursion of the Tonsley Drill Core Storage Facility

14-18 October 2018 – Australian Geoscience Council Convention: Big Issues and Ideas in Geoscience
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
This convention is hosted by the AGC and all the Australian geoscience member societies
More information is coming soon
Themes include:
- Understanding the Earth
- Life on Earth – origins and diversity
- Resources – discovery, development, use and sustainability
- Applied Geoscience in the 21st Century – innovation, technology and the future
- Beyond the Rocks – Geoscience in our society: current application and future trends
Scientific and Technical Program Convenor – Chris Yeats chris.yeats@industry.nsw.gov.au
AGC President and Convention Chair – Bill Shaw president@agc.org.au  

Committee

Chair: Dr Wolfgang Preiss
wolfgang.preiss@sa.gov.au

Vice Chair: Position Open

Secretary: Morgan Blades
E: morgan.blades@adelaide.edu.au


Treasurer: Claire Wade
E: claire.wade@sa.gov.au

Programme Secretary: Anna Petts
E: anna_petts@yahoo.com.au

Newsletter Editor: Benjamin Kimpton
E: benjamin.kimpton@student.adelaide.edu.au

General Committee
Sheree Armistead
E: sheree.armistead@adelaide.edu.au

Barry Cooper
E: barry.cooper@unisa.edu.au

John Foden
E: john.foden@adelaide.edu.au

Caroline Tiddy
E: caroline.tiddy@unisa.edu.au

Drew Lubiniecki
E: drew.lubiniecki@adelaide.edu.au

Len Altman
E: lenaltman9@gmail.com

Rachael Mahlknecht
E: 
racheal.mahlknecht@student.adelaide.edu.au


Laura Morrissey
E: laura.morrisey@adelaide.edu.au

Mario Werner
E: mario.werner@sa.gov.au

Geological Heritage Subcommittee
Bob Major (Convenor), Wayne Cowley, Pam Hasenohr, Noel Hiern, Ian Lewis

SA Stratigraphy Subcommission
Wayne Cowley (Convenor), Jim Jago, Tania Wilson

Education Subcommittee
Len Altman (Convener), Bernd Michaelsen

Field Guide Subcommittee
Barry Cooper (Convenor), Noel Hiern (Secretary), John Cann, Colin Conor, Wayne Cowley, Jim Jago, Nick Langsford, Bob Major, Cynthia Pyle, Vic Gostin, Pat James

SA Geotourism Subcommittee
Ian Lewis (Chair), Carmen Krapf, Anna Petts, Graziella Caprarelli, Vic Gostin, Kevin Hamdorf, Mark Bishop, Alice Gorman, Phil Plummer, Pat James