Bruce Webb Medal

The Bruce Webb Medal is awarded annually to a person distinguished for leadership that has advanced the earth sciences and/or for contributions to the advance of knowledge within the earth sciences in South Australia.

The Bruce Webb Medal commemorates the life and work of Bruce Webb (1926-2000) who committed all of his professional life to studying geology and later managing and leading a wide range of businesses, government agencies and educational institutions involved with geology in South Australia. 

In a career spanning over 50 years, Bruce was an active field geologist heading the State’s geological mapping effort. Later Bruce headed the Newmont and Poseidon exploration effort across Australia. He was elevated to Director General of Mines & Energy in 1972 and in 1988 was Head of the Australian Mineral Foundation. After passing normal retirement age, Bruce continued to serve on the Board of many Government and Educational agencies and at the time of his premature death in 2000, he was Chancellor of the University of Adelaide. Today Bruce remains widely remembered and respected by many in the South Australian geological fraternity who were touched by his integrity and decency, and the Bruce Webb Medal recognises this ongoing respect.

Bruce Webb Medallists

2019 - Barry Cooper

Barry Cooper

 2018 - Kathy Ehrig

Anthony Reid (L), Wolfgang Preiss (M) and Kathy Ehrig (R)

2017 - John Foden

John Fardon and Anna Petts

2016 - Noel Hiern

Barry Cooper (L) and Noel Hiern (R)

2015 - Jim Jago

Jim Jago and Anna Petts

2014 - Richard Hillis

Richard Hillis (R), Anna Petts (M) and Katherine Howard (L)

2013 - Bob Dalgarno

Bob Dalgarno (L), Kevin Willis (M) and Merylyn Webb (R)

2012 - Bob Major

Merylyn Webb and Bob Major

2011 - Vic Gostin

Andrei Gostin (L) and Len Altman (R)

2010 - Tony Belperio

Tony Belperio and Caroline Tiddy

2009 - Keith Johns

Keith Johns and Merylyn Webb

2008 - Wolfgang Preiss

Wolfgang Preiss and Merylyn Webb

2007 - John Cann

John Cann accepting his medal

2006 - Maude McBriar

(L-R) Maude McBriar, Ian Clark, Derek Carter & Graham Taylor

2005 - Lee Parkin

Lee Parki (R), Merilyn Webb & Graham Taylor (M)