Cradle Mountain, Cradle Mountain-Lake St Clair National Park, Tasmania

Tasmania

Tasmania Division Website

Talks & Events

5-6 December 2019 -Tasmanian Geoscience Forum
Details: The Tasmanian Geoscience Forum,  co-hosted by the GSA, AusIMM and AIG, will assemble geoscientists in one pleasant place to share their progress in exploration, mining and research. This event is for sharing results and ideas in the geosciences and learning more about geology, in particular the geology of Tasmania. Colin Jones will be coordinating a field trip to explain the features we observe in the east coast granites
 
Location: Tidal Waters Resort, St Helens, 1 Quail Street, St Helens, Tasmania
Time: 9.00am – 5.00pm Forum, 7.00pm Forum Dinner
Website and registration: https://ausimm.com/news/geoscience-forum-tasmania/

Previous Division Meetings

17 October 2019 - GSA TAS Division Meeting
Speaker: Jonathan Cloutier (UTAS)
Topic: Lithostratigraphic, structural and hyperspectral reconstruction of the Zn-Pb-Cu-Ag-Au Lemarchant volcanogenic massive sulphide (VMS) deposit, Tally Pond group, central Newfoundland, Canada


23 September 2019 - TAS Division Meeting
Speaker: Matthew Ferguson (Entura)
Topic: Faults, a basalt pile, and landslides around Tarraleah, Central Tasmanian Highlands

22 August 2019 - Joint GSA TAS Division & AIG Event Winter Antarctic Night
Speakers: Alessandro Maritati (Institute for Marine and Antarctic Studies) and Barbara Frankel (Australian Antarctic Division). 
Topics: Alessandro talk entitled 'Exploring geology under the ice in interior east Antarctica: a journey in deep time' and Barbara's talk entitled 'The Cape Adare pendant'


14 July 2019 - Joint GSA TAS Division and Royal Society of Tasmania Meeting

Speaker: Claire Kain (Mineral Resources Tasmania)
Topic: Hazards of flooding and flood modelling for Northern Tasmania

13 July 2019 - GSA TAS Division Field Trip
Field Trip Leader: Dave Gray
Location: 
Bellingham-Weymouth Field Trip

27 June 2019 - GSA TAS Division Annual General Meeting 
Speaker: Jocelyn McPhie (UTAS)
Topic: Underwater volcanoes
Details: Jocelyn McPhie was also awarded the
 W. H. Twelvetrees Medal

23 May 2019 - GSA TAS Division Meeting 
Speaker: Andrew Gleadow
Topic: Dating Aboriginal art sites around Australia

11 April 2019 - GSA TAS Division Meeting 
Speaker: Matthew McDowell (University of Tasmania)
Topic: Quaternary marsupial fossils of Australia and Tasmania

25 March 2019 - TAS Division Field Trip
Details: To complement the ‘Dinosaur and Evolution of Life Symposium’ a field trip was held which visited some of the Early Triassic vertebrate localities in the Hobart area including Conningham localities and the Old Beach vertebrate fossil locality.


23-24 March 2019 - A Symposium: Dinosaurs and Evolution of Life (Royal Society of Tasmania, GSA TAS Division and The University of Tasmania)

Details:
 2 day symposium highlighting recent advances in understanding the evolution of life on Earth, with a focus on Dinosaurs. 


21 March 2019 - Joint GSA Meeting with ASEG
Speaker: Paul Winberry (Central Washington University)
Topic: How Much? How Fast? Seismology's role in understanding the future of Antarctica's ice sheets

Committee

Chair: Karin Orth
E: karin.orth@utas.edu.au

Secretary: Matt Ferguson
E: matt.ferguson@entura.com.au

Treasurer: Andrew McNeill
E: andrew.mcneill@stategrowth.tas.gov.au

Membership Officer: Rebecca Carey
E: rebecca.carey@utas.edu.au

Newsletter Editor
Karin Orth
E: 

karin.orth@utas.edu.au


Student Representative 
Thomas Schaap
E: thomas.schaap@utas.edu.au

Committee Members

Rebecca Carey
E: rebecca.carey@utas.edu.au

Grace Cumming
E: Grace.Cumming@stategrowth.tas.gov.au

Jacqueline Halpin
E: jahalpin@utas.edu.au

Claire Kain
E: Claire.Kain@stategrowth.tas.gov.au

Dale Lewis
E: daleclewis@hotmail.com

Peter McGoldrick
E: P.McGoldrick@utas.edu.au

Sebastien Meffre
E: smeffre@utas.edu.au

Indrani Mukherjee
E: indrani.mukherjee@utas.edu.au

Phil Sansom
E: psansom@iinet.net.au

 Thomas Schaap
E: taschaap@utas.edu.au

Mike Vicary
E: Mike.vicary@stategrowth.tas.gov.au

Heritage representative
Clive Calver
E: clivecalver@gmail.com

Rock Garden representative
Ralph Bottrill
E: Ralph.Bottrill@dier.tas.gov.au