Cradle Mountain, Cradle Mountain-Lake St Clair National Park, Tasmania

Tasmania

Talks & Events
Upcoming Division Meetings
1 April 2017 - Tasmanian Division Field Trip
ORIGINAL 1 APRIL DATE POSTPONED DUE TO BAD WEATHER - A RESCHEDULED DATE WILL BE ANNOUNCED SOON
Where: Clear Hill Road, near Lake Gordon
Time: 8:00am-6:30pm
Content: Folded and deformed Cambrian and Ordovician sequences deposited in a variety of sedimentary environments. Stops will be made at known fossil localities and excursion participants can almost certainly be guaranteed to bag a trilobite fragment and brachiopod! The area has great views of some of the mountains of southwest Tasmania and Lake Gordon.
Notes: For further information contact Phil Sansom on 0427 391422 or geoedtas@iinet.net.au


Previous Division Meetings
6 March 2017
Topic: Where can geology take you?
Speaker: Professor Ross Large

8 November 2016
Topic: Pre-Ordovician VanDieland: a Victorian's view of western Tasmania and surrounds
Speaker: David Moore

27 October 2016
Topic: Micro-continents offshore Western Australia: implications for East Gondwana reconstructions
Speaker: Joanne Whittaker

8 September 2016
Topic: Musing of North Coast Tasmania structural geology - a 40-year perspective
Speaker: Dave Gray, University of Tasmania

18 August 2016
Topic: Seeing Things Differently (in Groundwater Management): Rethinking the Relationship Between Data, Models and Decision-Making
Speaker: Ty Ferré, Dept. Of Hydrology and Water Resources, University of Arizona

17 June 2016
Topic: Hylogger Workshop

26 May 2016
Topic: Volcanism on Heard and McDonald Island - Observations from the RV Investigator
Speaker: Jodi Fox, University of Tasmania

Committee

Chair: Garry Davidson (CODES)
E: garry.davidson@utas.edu.au

Vice-Chair: Andrew McNeill
E: andrew.mcneill@stategrowth.tas.gov.au

Secretary: Karin Orth
E: 

karin.orth@utas.edu.au



Treasurer: Jacqui Halpin
E: jahalpin@utas.edu.au

Newsletter Editor
Mike Vicary
E: mvicary@mrt.tas.gov.au

Committee Members
Peter McGoldrick
E: P.McGoldrick@utas.edu.au

Ron Berry
E: Ron.Berry@utas.edu.au

Phil Sansom
E: psansom@iinet.net.au

Karin Orth
E: Karin.Orth@utas.edu.au

Grace Cumming
E: Grace.Cumming@stategrowth.tas.gov.au

Daniel Gregory
E: Daniel.Gregory@utas.edu.au

Heritage representative
Clive Calver
E: clivecalver@gmail.com

Sean Johnson
E: sean.johnson@utas.edu.au


Rock Garden representative
Ralph Bottrill
E: Ralph.Bottrill@dier.tas.gov.au