Cradle Mountain, Cradle Mountain-Lake St Clair National Park, Tasmania

Tasmania

Talks & Events

23 August 2018 – TAS Division Dinner
Speaker: Nic Haygarth (Heritage Tasmania)
Topics: History of mining in Tasmania
Location: Alan Bray Pickled Pear, UTAS
Time: 6:00pm for 6:30pm
Cost: $55 per person

RSVP: Please contact Karin Orth - karin.orth@utas.edu.au

 

13 September 2018 – TAS Division Meeting
Speaker: Mike Hall (Monash University)
Topic: The late Cambrian rift system and the Tabberabberan Orogeny in western Tasmania
Location: Main Lecture Theatre, School of Earth Sciences, University of Tasmania
Time: 6:00pm

October 2018 – TAS Division Field Trip
Details: TBA

22-24 October 2018 – Garry Davidson Symposium
Details: The Garry Davidson Symposium honours Garry’s memory by providing a state-of-the-art appraisal of the characteristics, origins and exploration for these significant mineral resources.
Topics: IOGC and related deposits, uranium deposits, sediment-hosted base metal deposits, VHMS deposits and orogenic and intrusion-related Au.
Location: CODES, Centre for Ore Deposits and Earth Sciences, University of Tasmania
Cost: $110 for symposium for CODES staff/students, $1,760-$1,980 for symposium for industry participants (or $660 per day) and $110 for conference dinner

Registration and payment: Please download program and registration form below 

16 November 2018 – GESSS TAS
Location: Discipline of Earth Sciences, UTAS
Registrations: Check back soon for details
Abstracts: 
Check back soon for details

6-7 December 2018 – Tasmanian Geoscience Forum
Location: Tall Timbers, Smithton
Time: TBA

Previous Division Meetings

11 July 2018
Speaker: Todd Halihan (Oklahoma State University)
Topic: McElhinny Lecture (Joint IAH/GSA meeting)

28 June 2018 
Speaker: Rebecca Carey
Topic: Evolution of the 2018 Kilauea East Rift Eruption, Hawai'i

31 May 2018 – TAS Division Annual General Meeting
Speaker: Claire Kain (MRT)
Topic: Alluvial fan flooding and debris flow hazard at Caveside, Tasmania: A sediment and modelling analysis of the 2011 and 2016 events

7 April 2018 – TAS Division Field Trip
Location: Near Maydena

22 March 2018
Speaker: Dr Adam Soule (Chief Scientist of the National Deep Submergence Facility, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute)
Topic: Humans, Robots, and the most active volcanic systems on Earth

 12 October 2017
Topic: PNG and the minerals potential of the Papuan Peninsula
Speaker: Bob Findlay

24 August 2017
Topic: Geotrourism in Tasmania
Speakers: Ralph Bottrill, Clive Calver, Keith Corbett, Peter Manchester and Andy Spate

12 July 2017
Topic: Using geophysics to empower communities to study and understand the Earth beneath their feet
Speaker: Michelle Salmon, ANU

 1 June 2017
Topic: A new view on the initiation of intra-oceanic arcs: adventures in the SW Pacific and Ordovician of the Lachlan Fold Belt
Speaker: Dr. Sebastien Meffre, University of Tasmania


6 March 2017 

Topic: Where can geology take you?
Speaker: Professor Ross Large

Committee

Chair: Andrew McNeill
E: andrew.mcneill@stategrowth.tas.gov.au

Vice Chair: Matt Ferguson
E: matt.f76@gmail.com

Secretary: Karin Orth
E: 

karin.orth@utas.edu.au



Treasurer: Jacqui Halpin
E: jahalpin@utas.edu.au

Membership Officer: Rebecca Carey
E: rebecca.carey@utas.edu.au

Newsletter Editor
Karin Orth
E: 

karin.orth@utas.edu.au



Committee Members

Sebastien Meffre
E: smeffre@utas.edu.au

Grace Cumming
E: Grace.Cumming@stategrowth.tas.gov.au

Peter McGoldrick
E: P.McGoldrick@utas.edu.au

Phil Sansom
E: psansom@iinet.net.au

Mike Vicary
E: Mike.vicary@stategrowth.tas.gov.au

Heritage representative
Clive Calver
E: clivecalver@gmail.com

Sean Johnson
E: sean.johnson@ucc.ie


Rock Garden representative
Ralph Bottrill
E: Ralph.Bottrill@dier.tas.gov.au