Yardie Gorge - image courtesy Milo Barham

Western Australia

Click here for WA Division social media 
For questions regarding the WA Division please email wittww@iinet.net.au

Click here to watch technical talks from WA Division meetings on YouTube

Talks & Events
Monthly Meeting

Date: First Wednesday of each month (except December and January)
Location: Irish Club of WA (Inc.), 61 Townshend Road, Subiaco, between Hay Street and Churchill Ave
Time: 5.30pm
Info: wittww@iinet.net.au

Upcoming Events

12 July 2019 - Pilbara Coastal and Marine Science Symposium
Location: Fremantle
The Geological Society of Australia (WA Division) is facilitating a multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary day-long symposium on the Pilbara Coast and offshore regions, in collaboration with the Wetlands Research Association Inc. and Geoheritage Australasia. The Symposium will be held on July 12th next year in association with the AMSA 2019 Marine Science for a Blue Economy Conference (Fremantle) http://amsa19.amsa.asn.au/
The aim of the Symposium is to bring together and collate the up-to-the-present and state-of-the art science of universities, government agencies, researchers, and industry in a symposium to share information and exchange ideas towards the understanding and better management of the Pilbara Coast.  The objective also is to produce a quality refereed publication from original work presented at the Symposium
If you are interested in presenting an oral paper or poster at the Symposium or alternately developing a poster paper, please send a 200-500-word abstract and the paper title to: PCMSS@iinet.net.au by March 2019
Cost: $180 for individuals, $120 for GSA members and those registered for the AMSA Conference, $90 for concession holders and students. Applications for free registration, due to hardship, can be sent to PCMSS@iinet.net.au

Previous Division Meetings and Events

5 December 2018 – WA Division Social
Description: Review of the GSA WA activities during 2018 with a preview for 2019. 

29 November 2018 - GESSS WA
Description: GESSS WA is a new initiative allows Honours, Masters and PhD students from the University of Western Australia and Curtin University present their research to the local scientific community, to gain experience in communication their research findings through oral and poster presentations, to promote their talents to future employers, to discover areas of research at other universities or departments and to meet new people in the Earth Science field
Location: Geology Building, The University of Western Australia, 35 Stirling Hwy, Carwley WA 6009

7 November 2018 – WA Division Meeting
Speaker: Imogen Fielding, Geological Survey of Western Australia
Topic: In Situ U–Pb Geochronology of Hydrothermal Xenotime and Monazite to Date Gold Mineralization in the Northern Capricorn Orogen, Western Australia

3 October 2018 – WA Division Meeting
Speaker: Heta Lampinen (Centre for Exploration Targeting, UWA)
Topic: Defining a base metal mineral systems footprint in the Edmund Basin of the Capricorn Orogen, Western Australia

5 September 2018 – WA Division Meeting
Speaker: Helen McFarlane (Centre for Exploration Targeting, UWA)
Topic: Metamorphism of the West African Craton: Dilemmas of the Palaeoproterozoic accretionary-collisional Eburnean Orogeny (2.20 – 2.07 Ga)

1 August 2018 – WA Division Meeting
Speaker: Chloe Plet (CSIRO)
Topic: Carbonate Concretions: A window into the past

20 July 2018 – Spectral Data Processing Workshop (GSA WA Division, CSIRO, GSWA)

Topic: This one-day, hands-on workshop covered how to extract mineralogical and lithological information from HyLogger-derived hyperspectral data obtained from diamond drillcore. 

4 July 2018
Speaker:  Adam Bath (CSIRO)
Topic: Deposit- to camp-scale alteration mapping of Archean gold systems

6 June 2018
Speaker: Jens Klump (CSIRO)
Topic: Can we teach machines Geology? The role of data science in the geosciences

25 May 2018
WA Division Awards Night Presentation and AGM 

Awarding of the Gibb Maitland Medal, Ross Medal, Geological Society of Australia (WA Division) Medal and Certificates for Long-Standing Members

15 May 2018

Speaker: Angus M Robinson FAusIMM (CP)
Topic: Striking gold through geotourism – a perspective from a former gold/metals exploration geologist

2 May 2018 

Speaker: Dr Carl Brauhart (CSA Global)
Topic: OSNAACA database

4 April 2018 
Speaker: Prof. Jeffrey Vervoort (Washington State University)
Unravelling the early history of the Earth

7 March 2018
Speaker: Prof. Rob Strachan (University of Portsmouth)
Early Neoproterozoic orogenesis and Rodinia reconstructions in the North Atlantic 

6 and 8 March 2018
Tamala Limestone Fieldtrip - Classic Carbonates and Pleistocene Sea-Levels

7 February 2018
Speaker: Dr Kirsten Rempel (Curtin University)
Jewels of the Golden Mile: The Hidden Secret Ag-Au-Te deposit and kalgoorlieite, a new arsenic telluride mineral

GSA National Governing Council Elections and Western Australia Division Councillor

If you are considering becoming a Governing Councillor, know someone who may be interested or are keen to know more the following information will be helpful.
Alternatively, please do not hesitate to contact the GSA office email businessmanager@gsa.org.au or (phone: 02 9290 2194).

Divisional Councillor Nomination Form
(Microsoft Word Document)


Chair: Ignacio (Nacho) Gonzalez-Alvarez (CSIRO)
E: Ignacio.Gonzalez-Alvarez@csiro.au

Vice Chair: Peter Kinny (Curtin University)
E: p.kinny@curtin.edu.au

Secretary: Walter Witt (Consultant)
E: wittww@iinet.net.au

Treasurer: Stephen Wyche (GSWA) 
E: stephen.wyche@westnet.com.au

WA State representative on National Governing Council: Roger Bateman
E: roger.bateman10th@gmail.com

General Committee Members:
Paul Duuring (GSWA)
Stephen Barnes (CSIRO)
Trevor Beardsmore (GSWA)

Convenor (Awards Subcommittee):
Charles Butt

Convenor (Geoeducation Subcommittee):
Joanne Watkins (ESWA)

Convenor (Geoheritage Subcommittee):
Margaret Brocx

Convenor (Stratigraphic Nomenclature Subcommittee):
Milo Barham (Curtin University)

List of prospective sponsors for GSA-WA membership applications
Matthew Crowe
E: matt.crowe@bhpbilliton.com

Roger McNaughton
E: roger.w.mcnaughton@bhpbilliton.com

Charles Butt
E: charles.butt@csiro.au

Ignacio Gonzalez-Alvarez
E: ignacio.gonzalez-Alvarez@csiro.au

Bruce Hobbs
E: bruce.hobbs@csiro.au

Erick Ramanaidou
E: erick.ramanaidou@csiro.au

Curtin University
Milo Rory Barham
E: milo.barham@curtin.edu.au

Edith Cowan University
Ross Dowling
E: r.dowling@ecu.edu.au

Earth Science WA
Joanne Watkins
E: joanne.watkins@csiro.au

Stuart Robinson
E: srobinson@fmgl.com.au

Geological Survey of Western Australia
Heidi Allen
E: heidi.allen@dmirs.wa.gov.au

Trevor Beardsmore
E: trevor.beardsmore@dmirs.wa.gov.au

Peter Haines
E: Peter.HAINES@dmirs.wa.gov.au

Simon Johnson
E: simonpaul.johnson@dmirs.wa.gov.au

Michael Wingate
E: michael.wingate@dmirs.wa.gov.au

Walter Witt
E: wittww@iinet.net.au

Rio Tinto
Bryan Bowden
E: bryan.bowden@riotinto.com

University of Western Australia
Sandra Occhipinti
E: sandra.occhipinti@uwa.edu.au

Alison Ord
E: alison.ord@uwa.edu.au