GSA Earth Sciences Student Symposia (GESSS)

GESSS is a national program of symposia and an initiative of the Geological Society of Australia. Student conferences organised by students for students nationally. Registration is free for Students and Non Student GSA Members. For more information about GESSS contact info@gsa.org.au


GESSS 2020

12-16 October 2020 - Virtual GESSS 
Virtual GESSS will be held online during Earth Science Week 2020. The Earth Science Week theme is Earth Materials in Our Lives. Participants will be encouraged (but not obligated) to base their presentations around this theme.

Session will be organised by a GESSS committee representing a different state - QLD, TAS, ACT and WA. Daily sessions will be 2.5 hours in length with the first 2 hours dedicated to 6-8 student presentations and the final 20 minutes will be an INTRA GSA for participants and viewers to network. There will also be a professional development day on the Thursday.

Download Virtual GESSS Program

Registration openClick here

Following registration, attendees will receive emails with links to attend Virtual GESSS in Zoom.

Virtual GESSS will be held at different times across Australia
Monday, 12 October: Queensland
WST: 12.00 – 2.30pm (WA)
AEST: 2.00 - 4.30pm (QLD)
ACDT: 2.30 – 5.00pm (SA)
AEDT: 3.00 - 5.30pm (ACT, NSW, TAS, VIC)


Tuesday, 13 October: Tasmania
WST: 2.00 - 4.30pm (WA)
AEST: 4.00 - 6.30pm (QLD)
ACDT: 4.30 - 7.00pm (SA)
AEDT: 5.00 - 7.30pm (ACT, NSW, TAS, VIC)
  
Wednesday, 14 October: ACT & NSW
WST: 2.00 - 4.30pm (WA)
AEST: 4.00 - 6.30pm (QLD)
ACDT: 4.30 - 7.00pm (SA)
AEDT: 5.00 - 7.30pm
 (ACT, NSW, TAS, VIC)

Thursday 15 October: Professional Development
WST: 12.00 - 2.30pm (WA)
AEST: 2.00 - 4.30pm (QLD)
ACDT: 2.30 - 5.00pm (SA)
AEDT: 3.00 - 5.30pm (ACT, NSW, TAS, VIC)
  
Friday, 16 October: WA
WST: 3.00 - 5.30pm (WA)
AEST: 5.00 - 7.30pm (QLD)
ACDT: 5.30 - 8.00pm (SA)
AEDT: 6.00 - 8.30pm (ACT, NSW, TAS, VIC)

Webinars: There will be two webinars held in conjunction with Virtual GESSS. These are designed to give presenters (and other interested participants) skills that are associated with presenting at an online event. The webinars will be open for all GSA members as well as GESSS registrants.

10 September 2020 - Virtual GESSS Webinar 1: 'Promoting on Social Media'
Details: Hosted by GSA Governing Councillor Dr Verity Normington, will provide participants with practical tips and skills on using social media to promote their participation in the event. The aim of this will be to generate an online conversation around Virtual GESSS and further engage the GSA members in the event. The webinar will also include basic skills for using social media for science communication and having an online presence.
Slides: Click here to download the slides

8 October 2020 - Virtual GESSS Webinar 2: 'Presenting Online'
Details: H
osted by Dr Sandra McLaren (University of Melbourne), will give participants some practical skills for presenting in a virtual event. The skills required to present online are different to those typically adopted for traditional events.
Time: 12:00pm AEDT, 11.00am AEST (Brisbane), 11.30am ACDT (Adelaide), 9.00am AWST (Perth)

Virtual GESSS QLD Committee
Keegan McGuffie (University of Queensland) Co-chair & Communications
Emily Conn (University of Queensland)  Vice/Co-Chair & Facebook
Tianjiao Yu (University of Queensland)   Secretary

Mathew Vermaak (University of Queensland) All-rounder & Communications
Joan Esterle (University of Queensland) Abstract Coordinator
Alison Troup (University of Queensland) Abstract Coordinator

Virtual GESSS TAS Committee
Olivia Wilson (University of Tasmania)
Hannah Moore (University of Tasmania) 
Rhiannon Jones (University of Tasmania) 

Virtual GESSS ACT Committee
Amber Jarrett (Geoscience Australia)
Caleb Bishop (Australian National University)

Virtual GESSS WA Committee

Raiza Quintero
(Curtin University) – Chair/Secretary & Communications
Kenneth Orr (Curtin University) – Chair/Secretary & Abstract Coordinator
Andrea Rajšic (Curtin University) – Abstract Coordinator
Sean Makin (Curtin University) – Communications


24 November 2020 – GESSS SA
Location: Alere Function Rooms, Flinders University and streamed online
Description: Students from Flinders University, University of South Australia and University of Adelaide can either attend or present their research in person or participate digitally online. Students will promote their talents to future employers, discover new areas of research at other universities, and meet new people within the Earth sciences field.
Registration: Click here
Website: Click here
Abstract submission: Click here

Committee:
Amy Tschirn (PhD Candidate, Flinders University) – Chair
Alex Simpson (PhD Candidate, University of Adelaide) – Secretary
Cassia Paragnani (PhD Candidate, Flinders University) – Treasurer
Fernando Fagundes Fontana (PhD Candidate, University of South Australia) – Sponsorship Manager
Darwin Subarkah (PhD Candidate, University of Adelaide) – Program Coordinator
Georgina Tilly-Scholes (Bachelor of Environmental Science with Honours, Flinders University) – Publicity Coordinator
Holly Cooke (Bachelor of Science, Advanced, Geology Major, University of Adelaide) – Publicity Coordinator