Australian Stratigraphy Commission 

The Australian Stratigraphy Commission is a standing committee set up to provide orderly use of stratigraphic nomenclature in Australia, particularly to avoid duplication of names and to help authors define or redefine units adequately.

It consists of a National Convenor and Sub-commissions consisting of members nominated by the State and Territory Divisions.

The commission members work collaboratively, mostly via email to:

  • Provide a point of reference for matters relating to stratigraphic nomenclature, including interpretation of the International Stratigraphic Guide, and the Field Geologist’s Guide to Lithostratigraphic Nomenclature.
  • Provide education/advice on stratigraphy related issues to National, State and Territory government geoscience bodies, in particular staff and managers of the Australian Stratigraphic Units Database, as required.
  • Provide education/advice on stratigraphy related issues to the Divisions/Specialist Groups and members as required.  
  • Lobby editors of Australian and international geoscience journals to include checks of stratigraphic nomenclature in their ‘guides for authors’ and ‘guides for reviewers’.
  • Be a point of contact for the International Subcommission on Stratigraphic Classification (ISSC, of the IUGS International Commission on Stratigraphy).
  • Disseminate information from, and collate and provide Australian views to the ISSC, as required.
  • Report to the Governing Council on activities of the Australian Stratigraphy Commission.

Commission members meet up from time to time, when possible, and aim to meet at each Australian Earth Sciences Convention.

Australian Stratigraphy Commission

National Convener
Cathy Brown
Geosciences Australia
GPO Box 378, Canberra City, ACT 2601
T: 02 6249 9535    

State Conveners
ACT, External Territories
Albert Brakel
97 Atherton Street, Downer ACT 2602
T: (02) 6241 3895

New South Wales
Phil Gilmore
Industry & Investment NSW
516 High Street, Maitland, NSW 2320
T: 02 4931 6533

Northern Territory
Verity Normington
Northern Territory Geological Survey
T: 08 8356 9820

Ian Withnall
Geological Survey of Queensland
Level 12, 61 Mary Street, Brisbane, QLD 4000
T: (07) 3035 5270

South Australia
Wayne Cowley
Geological Survey of South Australia
GPO Box 320, Adelaide SA 5001
T: (08) 8429 2563

Stephen Forsyth
55 Malunna Rd
Lindisfarne, TAS 7015
T: (03) 6243 8952

AHM (Fons) VandenBerg
Museum of Victoria, GeoSciences
GPO Box 666, Melbourne VIC 3001
T: 0459 450 116

Western Australia
Peter Haines
Geological Survey of Western Australia
T: (08) 9222 3667