Australian Regolith Geoscientists Alliance (ARGA)


ARGA - the GSA's Newest Specialist Group

The Australian Regolith Geoscientists Association (ARGA) has merged with the GSA to become the Society’s newest Specialist Group, the Australian Regolith Geoscientists Alliance (keeping the same, well-recognised acronym of ARGA).

ARGA promotes the important role that regolith science plays in Australia. Regolith geoscience is critical in the Australian context, as more than 70% of the continent is covered by transported material and deep weathering profiles. The alliance has existed since the ending of the Cooperative Research Centre for Landscape Environments and Mineral Exploration (CRC LEME) in 2008. It builds upon the legacy of decades of Australian regolith research, including work at universities, state and Australian government agencies that culminated in CRC LEME.

We welcome all people who have an interest in regolith geoscience and its many facets, including geology, geochemistry, geophysics, geochronology, mineral exploration, pedology, biology, hydrology, meteorology, agronomy, forestry, etc.

The objectives of ARGA are to further the study of regolith geoscience and its allied disciplines (including Critical Zone studies) by:

  • facilitating the exchange of information among members of the association, and in general for all those interested in regolith geoscience
  • stimulating interest in regolith geoscience
  • encouraging the practical applications of regolith geoscience research
  • providing high-quality education and training
  • promoting regolith geoscience to the broader community.

ARGA’s goal is to promote research and education in regolith geoscience by fostering interaction and knowledge exchange between academia, government agencies, the minerals industry and the general public. To achieve these goals as a Specialist Group, ARGA facilitates:

  • an ARGA Symposium and/or field workshop at the next Australian Geoscience Council Convention (AGCC) and/or the Australian Earth Sciences Convention (AESC), together with organisational and editorial support
  • a biennial conference and field trips in opposite years to the AGCC and/or AESC, with extended abstracts volumes
  • the Keith Scott Memorial Award for best presentation at the biennial ARGA conference
  • student travel sponsorship to attend ARGA conferences and student prizes for ARGA conference presentations
  • special issues of AJES
  • ad hoc field trips and training courses for interest groups on a demand basis
  • the ARGA website (

We invite you to learn more about ARGA at and register as a member of ARGA with your next GSA subscription to become part of the newest Specialist Group. We’d love you to get involved as ARGA launches into the next stage of its development!


Dr Carmen Krapf 
Geological Survey of SA

Past President
Dr Leah Moore

Secretary and webmaster
Dr Ian Roach
Geoscience Australia

John Keeling

Non-Executive Committee Members
Dr Anna Petts (Geological Survey of SA)
Dr Ignacio Gonzalez-Alvarez (Nacho) (CSIRO)