Specialist Group in Solid Earth Geophysics (SGSEG)

The Specialist Group in Solid Earth Geophysics (SGSEG) embraces a broad range of subject areas that seek to better understand Earth structure, processes and dynamics from the application of physics.

This includes using seismic waves to illuminate the crust, mantle and core of the Earth, numerical modelling to simulate plate boundary and mantle circulation dynamics, measurements of the Earth's gravity and magnetic signals to determine structure and composition, and contributing to the understanding of earthquake hazard.

The goal of SGSEG is to act as a focal point for solid Earth geophysicists from around Australia in developing coordinated strategies for implementing new research of national interest, promoting collaboration among different research groups, and exchanging ideas via conferences and workshops.


Upcoming Meetings & Activities
18-23 November 2019 - Biennial Meeting of the SGTSG and SGSEG: Convergence on the Coast

Location: Port Lincoln, SA
Details: SGTSG and SGSEG are joining forces to bring together the research community in structural geology, tectonics and solid earth geophysics within Australia and internationally to discuss the latest research and developments in these fields. We plan to maintain the relaxed, informal atmosphere of previous SGTSG conferences, and strongly encourage student attendance and presentations. The conference will include a mid-conference field trip to see the spectacular local geology as well as other events. We hope that the conference will provide a nurturing networking experience for all attendees.
please click here
Registration: Please click here


Stephan Thiel 
Geological Survey of South Australia
Email: Stephan.Thiel@sa.gov.au

Professor Graham Heinson
University of Adelaide
Email: graham.heinson@adelaide.edu.au

Richard Chopping
Email: richard.chopping@anu.edu.au

Dr Karol Czarnota
Geoscience Australia
Email: karol.czarnota@ga.gov.au

Committee Members
Dr Anya Reading 
University of Tasmania
Email: anya.reading@utas.edu.au

Dr Erdinc Saygin
Research School of Earth Sciences, Australian National University
Email: Erdinc.Saygin@anu.edu.au

Dr Alan Aitken
University of Western Australia
Email: alan.aitken@uwa.edu.au